Follow Me on PinteresttwitterfacebookFeed-icon

Select Country:

Reviews written by lauracoleman1978

4 results - showing 1 - 4
 
Listings
 
2011-11-29 07:30:23 Laura Coleman
Would you recommend this book? 
 
4.0
Reviewed by lauracoleman1978    November 29, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Fun and very readable book

My kids (aged 5 and 6) have liked this for a couple of years now. It's a great Christmas book for an expat to Australia - we were given it as a present by an Australian friend. So a great Christmas gift idea! Fun, clever and great illustrations

Click to LIKE 
20
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-08-13 10:02:27 Laura Coleman
Would you recommend this book? 
 
3.0
Reviewed by lauracoleman1978    August 13, 2011
Last updated: August 13, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

A great classic

I bought this book because I remembered it from when I was a child and I loved reliving the memories of it.
My kids liked this book more when they were younger - about 2 to 3 years old. Now they are a bit older (4 and 6) they don't seem to want it so much. For a while though, they loved it and requested it a lot at bedtime. I think it is the strange adventure of sailing off over the seas that captures their imaginations.

My daughter was a little scared of the illustrations of the Wild Things for a while though! ;-)



Click to LIKE 
30
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-08-13 08:37:55 Laura Coleman
Would you recommend this book? 
 
5.0
Reviewed by lauracoleman1978    August 13, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Love this book!

we love Julia Donaldson in our house. This one is definitely one of the best. The sing song nature of the writing is so wonderful, especially as a be time story. It brings both my 4 year old and 6 year old together and transfixed. Such a sweet read,funny and touching. Highly recommend!

Click to LIKE 
40
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-07-31 09:31:07 Laura Coleman
Would you recommend this book? 
 
5.0
Reviewed by lauracoleman1978    July 31, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Great book with practical tips, would highly recommend.

I can highly recommend this book. My 5 year old son has always been a 'worrier' and I struggled to know how to give him the tools to overcome them, especially as he has gotten older and is able to articulate more what is on his mind.

This book is great because the character is easy to relate to and the idea of telling Mr Worrythoughts to go away was really empowering for my son. There is a great section at the end with some things you can do at home which has been really helpful. So we now have a worrythought box and have become good at paper planes ! (you'll have to read it to know what i mean!).

There is also a great follow up book called 'Happythoughts are everywhere' by the same author which we have also found really good.

Click to LIKE 
70
Report this review
4 results - showing 1 - 4