Follow Me on PinteresttwitterfacebookFeed-icon

Select Country:

Reviews written by Victoria

5 results - showing 1 - 5
 
Listings
 
2011-07-29 04:09:59 Victoria Beale
Would you recommend this book? 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Victoria    July 29, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

This book has got to be the classic of all time. I have three copies in my house, one which was my own and is over 30 years old, a second which was my husbands also over 30 years old, and a 3 year old version. History is repeating itself!

I love this book because it is so easy to read if you are three. The pictures are so clever that if you ask a child what is happening, they pretty much say what is written at the top. Such a sense of achievement!!

It's great for learning to count, learning basic foodstuffs and I doubt there is a child anywhere that has this book that doesn't know a caterpillar comes from an egg, but turns into a beautiful butterfly.

I can't think of another book that covers so many bases. A great book and every bookshelf needs a copy on it!

Click to LIKE 
70
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-07-01 12:14:51 Victoria Beale
Would you recommend this book? 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Victoria    July 01, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

The Gruffalo

Every Christmas brings a glut of new books. My favourite Christmas brought me this book. This book is the modern day "The Hungry Caterpillar".

It is funny, it teaches you to be suspicious, it teaches you to wait for a surprise. But if you have not read it before, you will never guess just how clever this mouse is.

This is a clever writer. You, as the mother, are reading; you children look at the pictures and you are not. When they are older, they are reading and you look at the pictures. It is as if you have never read it before.

There is a reason this book was made into a stage play and has a sequel. It is simple - but it is funny and that is the secret to it's success.

Click to LIKE 
80
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-07-01 11:50:57 Victoria Beale
Would you recommend this book? 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Victoria    July 01, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

A Squash and a Squeeze

I really love this book. I love it because I have had to read it for about 2 years every day, give or take a day, during our lunchtime, "Aren't you asleep yet?" lunchtime story prior to "our" nap.

I wasn't always a mother, but I like this book because we both find it amusing. It's funny (for me). It has really clever illustrations (thank you Axel). The methodical writing means it has a funny tale, a clear middle and a predictable end. If you are doing lunchtime storytime this book is near on perfect. Mouths start yawning, eyes start drooping just before the end, leaving just enough time finish, before saying, "night night" so you can have your lunch.

It's not only beautifully written, it's a clever prose, it amuses me as a grown up and my daughter never fails to be surprised by the ending.

And we've read it at least 702 times. And I'd be more than happy to read it again. This book has kept me alive and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Click to LIKE 
50
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-06-29 12:15:53 Victoria Beale
Would you recommend this book? 
 
3.0
Reviewed by Victoria    June 29, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

Aliens Love Underpants

We were given this book for Christmas. It's a rhyming book with beautiful illustrations of funny aliens stealing knickers off the washing line.

My children love this book - there is something apparently very amusing about an alien hiding in your knickers... I on the other hand, find it a bit creepy. I'm not sure why, but I just think this author is trying too hard. I worry that my children will watch me putting the washing away and wonder if there are aliens in the wardrobe at bedtime.

Maybe I am too conservative, maybe I associate it with the person who gave it to us, but I don't choose this book for a night time read. Maybe as the mother of girls, it's more of a boys' book?

Click to LIKE 
52
Report this review
Listings
 
2011-06-29 12:03:37 Victoria Beale
Would you recommend this book? 
 
4.0
Reviewed by Victoria    June 29, 2011
Top 10 Reviewer  -  

The Gruffalo's Child

As an English child, I was taught to read with now classic story, "The Hungry Caterpillar".

30 years later, I believe a generation of children will learn to read with "The Gruffalo" and it's sequel, "The Gruffalo's Child". There is something very special, if not theatrical, about reading a story at bedtime, where the adult reader is as interested in hearing the end as the child.

There is a magical poetry in the original story which makes it impossible to put down. Whilst the sequel may follow a familiar theme, there is something wonderfully reassuring to discover the story of the Gruffalo's child. I recommend this book - without question these will become the Australian Classics of our time.

Click to LIKE 
50
Report this review
5 results - showing 1 - 5